Tonight Is The Night: NHL Awards LIVE From Vegas!


The season may have ended but the hockey world is still happening. Tonight is the 2011 NHL Awards – Live from the Pearl Theater at the Palms Casino in Las Vegas!

Versus and CBC are covering the 2011 Awards show live at 7 p.m. (EST) hosted by Jay Mohr; while the NHL Network will have the red carpet and post show coverage.

NHL has gone Hollywood in Vegas as Producer Jerry Bruckheimer, Illusionist Criss Angel, Actress Cobie Smulders (How I Met Your Mother), Actor Jon Hamm (Mad Men), Director Kevin Smith (Jay and Silent Bob) and the only and only Donny Osmond are among the presenters.

Flint, Michigan native Tim Thomas will also be in attendance (as will Livonia-native-Ryan-Kesler). The current Stanley Cup Champion and Conn Smythe (Playoff MVP) is also up for the Vezina Trophy as the leagues best goalie*.

The Red Wings are up for a few awards themselves; but lets take a look at all of the awards up for grabs and their three finalist:

Hart Memorial Trophy: Most Valuable Player (to his team)

Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks
Lead the league with 50 goals and had an additional 48 assist for a total of 98 points this season.

Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks
41 goals and 63 assist for a total 104 points

Martin St. Louis – Tampa Bay Lightning
99 points this season broken into 31 goals and 68 assist for the turn around Lightning franchise.

Vezina Trophy: Best Goaltender

Roberto Luongo – Vancouver Canucks
38-15-7 record this season
Goals Against Aaverage: 2.11
Save Percentage: 0.928

Pekka Rinne – Nashville Predators
GAA: 2.12
SVP: 0.930

Tim Thomas – Boston Bruins
GAA: 2.00
SVP: 0.938

James Norris Memorial Trophy: Best Defenseman

Zdeno Chara – Boston Bruins
The Bruins captain posted 44 points this season. Chara’s nearly seven foot frame scored 14 goals and 30 assist on 264 shots on goal and had a 33 plus/minus.

Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings
With six Norris Trophies to his name Lidstrom has been a finalist the last two season but has been beaten out by Boston’s Zdeno Chara and Chicago’s Duncan Keith. This season the Red Wings captain scored 62 points (16 goals and 46 assist) with 175 shots on goal and had his first ever minus season with a -3 in the plus/minus.

Shea Weber – Nashville Predators
The Predators captain (who is an RFA this off season) had 16 goals and 32 assist on his 254 shots on goal and maintained a plus 7 in the plus/minus.

Calder Memorial Trophy: Rookie of the Year

Logan Couture – San Jose Sharks
32 goals, 24 assist (56 points)
253 Shots on Goal and an 18 plus/minus

Michael Grabner – New York Islanders
34 goals, 18 assist (52 points)
228 shots on goal and a 13 plus/minus

Jeff Skinner – Carolina Hurricanes
The youngest rookie to ever play in the NHL All-Star game (previous holder of that title was Detroit’s own Steve Yzerman and we know how that career turned out).
31 goals, 32 assist (63 points)
215 shots on goal and a 3 in the plus/minus.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly Conduct

Loui Eriksson – Dallas Stars
Forward – Left Wing
27 goals, 46 assist (73 points)

Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings
16 goals, 46 assist (62 points)

Martin St. Louis – Tampa Bay LightningForward – Right Wing
31 goals, 68 assist (99 points)

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Best Two-Way Forward (A forward that excels in defensive play)

Pavel Datsyuk – Detroit Red Wings
23 goals, 36 assist (59 points)
137 shots on goal and a plus/minus of 11

Ryan Kesler – Vancouver Canucks
41 goals, 32 assist (73 points)
260 shots on goals and a plus/minus of 24

Jonathan Toews – Chicago Blackhawks
32 goals, 44 assist (76 points)
233 shots on goal and a plus/minus of 25

Jack Adams Award: Coach of the Year

Dan Bylsma – Pittsburgh Penguins
2010-11 season record: 49-25-8
Points: 106

Barry Trotz – Nashville Predators
Points: 99

Alain Vengeful – Vancouver Canucks
Points: 117

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Perseverance, Sportsmanship and Dedication to Hockey

Ray Emery – Anaheim Ducks
GAA: 2.28
SVP: 0.926

Daymond Langkow – Calgary Flames
Forward – Center
0 goals and 1 assist (1 point)
6 shots on goal and a plus/minus of 3

Ian Laperriere – Philadelphia Flyers
Forward – Right Wing

Ted Lindsay Award: Most Outstanding Player

Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks
50 goals, 48 assist (98 points)
290 shots on goals and a plus/minus of 9

Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks
42 goals, 63 assist (104 points)
266 shots on goal and plus/minus 30

Steven Stamkos – Tampa Bay Lightning
45 goals, 46 assist (91 points)
272 shots on goal with a plus/minus of 3

Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award: Leadership qualities on and off the ice

Zdeno Chara – Boston Bruins

Shane Doan – Phoenix Coyotes

Nicklas Lidstrom – Detroit Red Wings

NHL Foundation Award: Player whom applies core values of the game (commitment, perseverance and teamwork) to enrich the lives of the people in his community.

Dustin Brown – Los Angles Kings
Mike Green – Washington Capitals
Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks

Awards based entirely on stats and not voted upon:

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy: Top Goal Scorer
Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks
50 goals

Past Winners (since 2005 lockout):
2010: Steven Stamkos ( Tampa Bay Lightning) and Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
2009: Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
2008: Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
2007: Vincent Lecavlier (Tampa Bay Lightning)
2006: Jonathan Cheechoo (San Jose Sharks)

Art Ross Trophy: Top Point Scoter
Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canucks
104 points

Past Winners (since 2005 lockout):
2010: Henrik Sedin (Vancouver Canucks)
2009: Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins)
2008: Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
2007: Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)
2006: Joe Thornton (San Jose Sharks)

Williams M. Jennings Trophy: Goalkeeper with fewest goals scored against (must play in at least 25 games)

Roberto Luongo/Cory Schneider – Vancouver Canucks

Previous Winners (since 2005 lockout):
2010: Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
2009: Tim Thomas/Manny Fernandez (Boston Bruins)
2008: Dominik Hasek/Chris Osgood (Detroit Red Wings)
2007: Niklas Backstrom/Manny Fernandez (Minnesota Wild)
2006: Miikka Kiprusoff (Calgary Flames)

*all statistics for the 2010-11 NHL Regular Season – voting is completed for the awards before the start of the playoffs.