Mandatory Credit: Peter Fish

The Grand Rapids Griffins Are The Calder Cup Champions

The Grand Rapids Griffins are the 2013 Calder Cup Champions!

In the First Round the Griffins took on the Houston Aeros and downed them in, the elimination game, game 5.

Then they went on to play the Toronto Marlies, but all the history in Toronto could not ave them and the Griffins dispatched the in game 6.

In the Western Conference Finals the Griffin had their hands full with the Oklahoma City Barons and it took them seven games to knock them out, thanks in part to the additions of Gustav Nyquist and Joakim Andersson.

Finally, the Griffins had made it to their first Calder Cup Finals in franchise history to battle the Syracuse Crunch, but they were not done there; they were hungry and they wanted more than just a finals appearance.

The Griffins went on to win the first three games of the series before dropping games four and five at home. They were not discouraged though and flew back to Syracuse on a mission.

The Griffins were not going to be denied the Calder Cup and took Game Six, 5-2. Brendan Evans scored the game winning goal; a defensman who had only 7 points in the regular season, but stepped it up in the playoffs and put up 8 points.

This group has secured their spot if Griffins history by bringing the Calder Cup back to Grand Rapids for the first time in franchise history.

Tomas Tatar left Syracuse with two trophies, as he was named the Calder Cup MVP as well.

SendtoNews News Distribution Services

Next Red Wings Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 2323 Oct7:30Pittsburgh PenguinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Calder Cup Calder Cup Champions Detroit Red Wings Grand Rapids Griffins Tomas Tatar

comments powered by Disqus